Recipe Day!

Every so often I spend an entire day thumbing through my many, many cookbooks in search of new recipes. Today, I would like to ask those of you who read here for a favor:  send me a recipe! I really love regional recipes. If you live in the midwest, send me a recipe for something that it popular there that I need to try! If you’re in Louisiana is there a Cajun recipe that I must try? You get the idea! I know some of you read here from other countries, so send me a recipe from wherever you are! Or, if you rather, send me a tried and true family recipe that has been passed down from other family members.

Please leave your recipes in the comments section. You can remain anonymous if you like or just tell me your first name. Also, please tell me about the recipe:  is it a regional recipe? A family dish? Is it good?

My contribution to today’s recipe fest is for Maple Pumpkin Cheesecake with Homemade Caramel and Apple Marmalade!

Cheesecake:

1 1/2 C. finely crushed graham crackers
1/3 C. granulated sugar
1/3 C. butter, melted (do not substitute margarine)
3  8oz. packages of cream cheese, softened
1 C. canned pumpkin
2/3 C. packed brown sugar
1/4 C. pure maple syrup OR maple flavored pancake syrup
1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs, slightly beaten

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a medium bowl combine finely crushed graham crackers, granulated sugar, and melted butter. Press crumb mixture onto the bottom and 1 1/2 inches up the sides of an ungreased 9-inch springform pan. Bake for 8 minutes. Remove from oven, and transfer to a wire rack. Let it cool completely.

As the crust cools mix the filling. In an extra-large bowl beat cream cheese with an electric mixer on medium to high speed until smooth and creamy. Add pumpkin, brown sugar, syrup, and vanilla. Beat cream cheese mixture until well combined. Fold in eggs. Continue to mix until creamy and smooth.
Pour mixture on top of cooled crust and bake for 70 minutes. At the end of the cooking time it should be set but the cake should wobble if you jiggle the pan. Cool the pan on a wire rack for 20 minutes. Using a thin knife, loosen crust from sides of pan. Cool for 30 minutes more. Remove sides of springform pan; cool for 1 hour. Cover and chill in fridge for at least 4 hours (12-24 hours is best).

Caramel Sauce:

1/2 C. whipping cream
1/2 C. butter (one stick)
3/4 C. packed dark brown sugar
2 Tbsp. light-colored corn syrup
1 tsp. vanilla

In a medium heavy saucepan stir together whipping cream, butter, brown sugar, and corn syrup. Bring to boiling over medium-high heat, whisking occasionally; reduce heat to medium. Boil gently for 3 minutes more. Remove from heat; stir in vanilla. Transfer sauce to a storage jar or bowl. Let cool 15 minutes. Cover and chill. Let stand at room temperature for 1 hr before serving. Can be stored in fridge for up to 2 weeks.

Apple Marmalade:

4 granny smith apples, peeled, cored, and diced
juice of 1 orange
1/4 c. orange marmalade
1 Tbsp. cinnamon sugar
1 1/2  tsp. allspice

In a saucepan add all ingredients. Bring to boil over medium heat stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to low and let it simmer, stirring occasionally, until apples are wilted and mixture has thickened a bit. Add extra spices to taste per your preferences.

To serve, top a slice of cheesecake with caramel and then with marmalade. So good and rich!

39 thoughts on “Recipe Day!

  1. Let's see how about No Fail Fudge got it passed down to me from an excoworker.3 cups semi sweet chocolate chips1 can sweetened condensed milk1/4 tsp salt1/2 cup nuts (if you want I don't ever)1 tsp vanillaIn a small pot combine the salt, chips and the milk make sure you stir stir stir as it will burn if you're not paying attention. When you're ready to take it off the stove put in the vanilla and stir that around. Then put into whatever container you want it to be in (depends on if you want the fudge thick or thin) and pop it into the fridge to cool. To save on clean up and loss of fudge to the pan I always put a layer of aluminum foil on the inside of the pan then when you cut it you just pop it out of the dish. It's so damn good.-justalurker

  2. This I got from Raley's (grocery store) and I've made it 3 times it's so good and easy to make. You can add different items to it as well. One time I added those sweet hot peppers (the red ones) OMG so good. And I don't get their rice (it's the stuff in the freezer as DH is against brown rice) so I use whatever I have in the cabinet. Have made it with Saffron and Forbidden Rice. Also for the fish I don't care for Cod so I use Tilapia but you could probably use any white fish as well as Salmon.1 (10-oz.) package Village Harvest Brown, Red & Wild Rice Medley, thawed2 (12-oz.) packages Full Circle Natural Alaskan Wild Cod, thawed1 tsp. each: dried oregano and garlic salt8 thin lemon slices1 medium tomato, diced16 pitted kalamata olives, cut into wedgesPreparationPreheat oven to 425°F and tear four 12-inch pieces of parchment paper.Top each piece of parchment with equal amounts of rice, cod, oregano, garlic salt, lemon, tomato and olives. Bring up ends of parchment and fold over twice; fold ends under to enclose ingredients.Place on a baking sheet and cook for 15 minutes-justalurker

  3. This one is so simple that it can barely be called a recipe! Throw a few boneless, skinless chicken breasts into the crockpot, dump a bottle of barbecue sauce over it, put the lid on and cook on low for 3-4 hours. When the chicken is cooked through, take it out, use two forks to shred it and put it back in the crockpot to keep it warm. I serve it on buns or the small Hawaiian rolls, sometimes with cole slaw on top. It's SO good and SO easy!

  4. Chicken Jeannie…lol this dish doesn't have a name so I just named it after myself…you're welcome ;)package of chicken breast (usually 3 or 4 chicken breasts), diced into larger bite size piecespackage of mushrooms, slicedcan of olives, drainedjar of artichoke hearts, diced up and KEEP the juice1 lemonStart by dipping chicken pieces into beaten egg then breadcrumbs. You want to saute them in olive oil but not cook through, just to brown. When browned, take off stove and add the olives, the artichoke pieces and all of the juice from the jar, the uncooked sliced mushrooms and the juice of one lemon (and the zest if you'd like) to the pan. Gently mix it all together and pour into a casserole or pan. Bake for 25-30 at 350. While it's cooking I make rice pilaf or cous cous. You can do pasta if you'd like. It is so good!Oh and some people don't like artichokes, or olives or mushrooms. I think one could be omitted if need be.-ohTHATpaypalaccount

  5. Okay Snort, My Mom & I ran our own Family Restaurant/Cafe for about 22 years. Everything was Homemade and just like you would get if you were envited to our home for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. We shut it down in 1997 only because we were "tired" and we both wanted to retire from Food Service (long hours,very stressful and alot of hard work!). One of the things that was a Drawing Card to our business was homemade Pies and Pastries. We sold alot of Cream Pies and many different flavors and they were all done with one basic recipe. This is a recipe for one cream pie:3 cups whole milk…….3 large egg yolks (save the whites)…….1 cup of sugar…….3 heaping and I mean heaping, not leveled off, tablespoons of corn starch…….1 teaspoon Vanilla. Put the 1 cup of sugar and 3 heaping tablespoons of corn starch in a medium size bowl and mix them till they are blended. Beat the 3 egg yolks in a sauce pan & add the 3 cups of milk and stir with a wisk. Heat the milk & egg mixture untill very hot but not boiling. Pour about 1/2 of the hot milk & egg mixture into the bowl of sugar & corn starch. Mix with the wisk untill blended and slowly pour back into the milk & egg mixture that is still on the stove.Cook over medium heat stiring all the time, so it will not stick, untill it thickens and comes to a low bubblely boil. Boil about 1 minute stiring all the time. Take off heat and stir in 1 teaspoon vanilla. That is your basic vanilla cream pie base. Now you can add drained can pineapple, canned peaches, sliced banana, coconut, melted chocolate, peanut butter, raisins, cherry pie filling. sliced fresh strawberies…just about anything you want. Put in a baked pie shell and top with Meringue from the 3 egg whites you saved. Marshmallow Creme Meringue Recipe. Beat egg whites untill stiff and add one jar, 7oz, of Marshmallow and beat another 1-2 minutes. Pile high on cream pie. I use a Creme Brulee Torch to brown my meringue, or put it under the broiler a minute untill brown. The best seller we had was a Reeses Pie. Cut cooked pudding in 1/2 and make one half chocolate and the other 1/2 peanut butter. Spread the chocolate layer on the crust and top with the peanut butter layer. So Good!!!!Marley1496

  6. Wow, sounds amazing. Could you tell me how to get the 1/2 chocolate and the other 1/2 peanut butter. How much and of what do you add? Thanks!-ohTHATpaypalaccount

  7. Take 5 or 6 boneless skinless chicken thighs. Season and place in crock pot.Put in a food processer…1 can of black olives, cloves of garlic to taste, an onion, parsley, oregano, a little red wine vinegar. Chop up until it's like a thick paste, then spread on top of chicken thighs. Top with a can of diced tomatoes, and cook on "low" until the thighs are cooked through, or alternatively whenever you feel like eating dinner (i usually give it 5 hours).Serve on rice, with a nice salad.

  8. That sounds good. After my gastric bypass the surgeon and nutritionist said that very tender proteins would be easiest to digest, and they recommended that I make friends with my crock pot. This will definitely get made. Thank you!

  9. Okay, here's what you gotta do.Open some cans of stuff. At least two of them should be beans of various sorts, but the rest can just be whatever crap you've got on hand.Dump the contents into a bowl. The bowl must be turquoise or orange. Never green or the recipe WILL NOT turn out.Dump in a moist binder of some sort. I recommend salad dressing in quantity.Chop up some cilantro. Stir it into your canned food mixture. Sprinkle with finishing salt. Photograph the finished product. Empty the contents of the bowl into the trash. Get in your Yukon and haul ass to the nearest McDonalds with a drive-thru. Did you know you can get THREE McDoubles for under $4? You're welcome. 🙂

  10. Fan-fucking-tastic! I look forward to making it! I'd also like to pass along a recipe for potato soup you might enjoy:1 can Chunky brand Potato Soup1 quart heavy whipping creamMix together then heat. I also have a really good one for a healthy, hot veggie cereal in the mornings:In a crock pot (if you can afford one) mix 2 cans Veg-All with some steel cut oats and hairy goat milk. Cook over night on low heat.

  11. That sounds delicious, but I don't know if I'm up to making potato soup from scratch. Maybe if I send out some whiny tweets, a dear gal will make it for me and drop it off. Where to start? "Sad. Really craving potato soup, too. Also, sad."I have a Crock Pot but stopped using it because I'm like, super green and frugal and I wanted to conserve electricity.

  12. I feel ya; we had to get on a payment plan with the electric company because the crock-pot was just too expensive to run. My husband left me (again!) this morning, so I don't feel like cooking from scratch either. I'm just going to throw some shit in an ice cube tray for G.

  13. Easy Peasy Pulled Pork (for sandwiches) One pork loin (2-3lbs). I can coke. I cup ketchup. I cup brown sugar. Mix the coke/ketchup/brown sugar (in a bowl in the sink..this combo acts like a volcano erupting! I learned the hard way lol). Pour over the pork and low cook in crock pot six hours. Shred and eat! corny cornbread–cornbread (Aunt Jemina) mixed per instructions on the box, add a can of cream corn and a can of regular corn. Bake as box says for cornbread (9×9 pam sprayed pan) or muffins (makes 12 muffins) dessert: watergate salad: Ingredients: one small box pistachio pudding mix, one tub cool whip (defrosted), one can (tall) pineapple tidbits, one cup chopped walnuts. Mix all together and chill. Coconut is a good add in. (the pudding isn't cooked, just pour out of the box) (ja a mwop lurker).

  14. With or without cilantro? Just kiddin'. I think I am the only person on the face of the earth that doesn't like ranch dressing. I must be missing the Hidden Valley gene.

  15. Going thru my pantry earlier I discovered that I had the ingredients for your corny cornbread. I tossed in some jalapenos. It was wonderful! And thanks for the other ones too!! (and the tip about the volanic BBQ sauce)

  16. Hey Fleaves! Thanks so much! I deleted your other comments on here because you wanted to not have your name show, but I did click on your name and found your cooking blog. I like it! I hope that was ok 🙂

  17. Oh I have another one I picked up from a parenting blog no idea what it's called but it's crock pot friendly and depending on how much liquid you put in it you either end up with a chili or you can end up with something to go on burritos.1lb boneless/skinless somethings..breasts…thighs..whatever you like or is cheaper or whatever1/2-3/4 jar of favorite salsa (med size jar)1 cup chicken stock (less if you don't want chili)1 can black beans drained (whatever the small can is..10oz or 14oz whatever)You can put the chicken in frozen let it cook for 6-7 hours (with everything else on it) and then shred it. Let it cook for another hour or until the chicken is done. I've done it in 3-4 hours when I've forgotten or you can do thawed chicken. One time I added diced green chili's..yummers. Serve either in a bowl with some toasted tortilla's for dipping or drain it off a bit and just put it on tortillas. Don't forget the greek yogurt or sour cream for the top. Maybe a bit of shredded cheese. So good.-justalurker

  18. I hate ranch too. Just thinking about it makes me feel gaggy.That said, I know a lady who carries a personal bottle of ranch in her purse so that she'll never be without it in an emergency.Signed,SweetFancyJerkwad

  19. I'll give you one of my favorite easy and quick slaws. Grate a pound of carrotsGrate the peel from a lemonSqueeze the juice from the lemon (you may need another lemon if small)Chop one rib of celeryDice one red appleoptional: a dash of salt and a few chopped nuts (I like hazelnuts or pecans best)Mix all together with 1-2 teaspoons honey and about 1/4 cup of currents (you can use raisons, but I like currents)You can make it sweeter or more juicy if you wantIlovemyteeth

  20. OMG, Sweet Fancy, do you know my sister in law? She does that, and it kills me. She puts it on pizza, spaghetti, chicken, and who only knows what else.

  21. SWEDISH THIN PANCAKES 3 eggs (well beaten)1 c. flour1 tsp. salt2 tbsp. sugar2 c. milkSift flour, sugar and salt into a bowl. Add eggs and milk gradually. Stir until smooth. Let stand 1 hour and beat again. May be used immediately also. Warm griddle to 300 degrees. Pour on lightly greased skillet forming small thin cakes. Turn when underside is nicely browned.I just used a warm skillet on the stove. Great childhood memory! They were called Dick Alt Pancakes and originally I found them in a 1930's cookbook. This particular one came from http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,194,145170-253196,00.html

  22. How about left over fried eggs dipped in ranch. There's this fancy invention called a pizza cutter and you can use that to cut cold fried eggs! No, really you can. And you're welcome. Kids apparently love this shit dipped in ranch dressing.

Care to chime in with your $0.02?

