*BURP* ‘Scooze me!

Hello everyone!

I figured a weight loss/recovery post was in order (even though I haven’t lost another 20 pounds!).

For the most part, I am doing very well and recovering nicely. I made the transition from liquids to soft proteins (eggs, yogurt, fish, chicken, turkey, ground beef with gravy, and beans) a week ago and have been doing ok. Some patients hit a weight loss plateau at this point in the process, and I, unfortunately, am one of those people. Since my last post about my weight (10 days ago?) I have lost 1 pound. It is frustrating. I know I have made great progress in less than a month, but some part of me expects to stand on the scale every few hours and see weight loss. Crazy, I know.

As for problems/complications, my only complaints are the gas and nausea. When I was a little girl I remember my Cuban grandmother, Wella, could carry a tissue with her; she let out little burps all the time and drank Mylanta every day. I am now my grandmother, sans tissue. Everytime I drink I burp. When I walk I burp. I sat down to pee this morning and burped. J looks at me and I burp. The nausea started a couple of days ago, and the doctor has called in some prescriptions for me that J will pick up on his way home.

This morning I weighed in at 272.5 lbs.

I love you all, and thank you for your support and encouragement! I’ll post photos with the next blog post.

10 thoughts on “*BURP* ‘Scooze me!

  1. Is that the vurping thing you can get with the surgery? You can try papaya extract enzymes they can help keep that shiznit down also Nexium is fabulous (but am not sure what you can take after your surgery).

  2. I applaud you for going through with this surgery. It is a true life-changing event that requires great strength that you certainly display. Thank you for sharing your journey. Just hoppin’ on over from MWOP. Have a good day! 🙂

  3. Hey Snort,
    Don’t get too frustrated. The weight will start falling off again soon. My husband had the similar issue twice. First when he started solid food, and then again when he started going back to work (he works from 4 in the morning to 12:30, but stays up until 9 or so. and when he went back to work he had to add more meals to his day. After a week or so, the weight did start going down again. For the gas, I don’t know if you have seen them, but they do have GasX strips that dissolve in your mouth. I don’t know if you can take them or not. I know the gas from the surgery affected my husband for almost a month. Good luck and keep up the good work.
    I also wanted to comment on your comment from MWOP (I read but don’t post there) about 6-inch and talking. You definitely can get him evaluated at any time. Each state has a program for therapy for 0-3 year olds (some is totally covered by insurance, and some you pay on a sliding scale according to your income). Our pediatrician wanted our son B to be evaluated at 15 months, he really didn’t talk to much. He is the only child in the house and usually one of 2 or 3 kinds at daycare, so he never really needed to talk too much. I think we finally did it at 16 months or so (the pediatrician did need to call and recommend an evaluation). B has been doing the therapy every other week since June (17 months old). It is more of a play therapy and trying to get him to start making sounds. The good thing is that our therapist also agreed to help teach B some sign language, so for some things (more, baba, please, and help). B did actually learn a way to communicate his wants to us without having to speak. Anyways, if you are considering it for 6-inch, maybe call your pediatrician and have him reccomend an eval now because it can take a few weeks to schedule one and get started.
    Sorry for going on a bit. Hope you get over the plateau soon. Look forward to seeing your progress pictures (as well as pictures of your new shoes). 🙂

    -g-

  4. Hi Snort, still reading over here! Congrats on your weight loss so far…what do the docs say about the plateau? Sounds like it’s totally normal…do they give you tricks for pushing through it? Wonder if your body just needs to adjust to the high protein/low cal/low carb thing…I dunno. But it sounds like you’re really sticking with everything! Can’t wait to hear (and see?) more of your progress. Congrats!

  5. Hi Sweetie. This is Meda/Mom. First of all, I am so proud of you. Not for the burping, but the determination to lose weight to make a healthier you! As for the plateau, this is an old trick. Squeeze the juice of one small lemon in a glass of water. Drink one of these a day for 3 days. The citric acid aids in rocking your metabolism. Hope you can have this, cause it works! I had to resort to it many times lol. Anyway, much love, hugs, and atta girls just for you!

  6. Oh Carmen. I just spent 3 days with my wonderful daughter who has lost 94+ lbs since her April ‘sleevectomy’ and she looks just wonderful. New rockin black knee high boots, with black tights, purple skirt and great shirt. She looks so…..so very awesome. So will you. You will look this rockin’ hot in 8 months. Keep on working it.

  7. I keep popping in for an update!! I hope all is well with you. Plateaus are to be expected with any weight loss…. Take care of yourself!!!!

  8. I keep checking in for an update. I hope all is going well for you! Keep up the good work 🙂 When I finally get scheduled for my surgery, I am thinking about blogging it as well. It has certainly been reassuring to read about others’ experiences.

Care to chime in with your $0.02?

