Plateau

If any of you follow the trainwreck that is Jennifer McKinney, Tracy Coenen has published yet another spectacular article about her lies on Fraud Files. You can click the link on the right side of the page under the heading “Places I Fancy.” In addition to mentioning Jennifer’s penchant for making false health claims and lying about her weight loss, Tracy covers perhaps the most important aspect of this story that I think is often overlooked: MLM companies or “pyramid schemes” are not a great way to make money. 99% of people that sign up to sell products actually LOSE MONEY, and for those that make money the average income is about $2400. In addition, people are often left with inventory on hand and risk alienating friends, family, and co-workers with pushy sales techniques. It just leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

As I don’t lie about my weight loss, let me give you an update! In a previous post I mentioned that I had lost 52 pounds and that I weighed 241 lbs. A few weeks later I now weigh…..240 lbs. Huh? Really? Yes, people who have bariatric surgery apparently hit plateaus. As our caloric intake is rarely over 1,000 calories our bodies sometimes try and fight the rapid weight loss by holding onto fat for dear life. To add insult to injury, I actually gained back up to 245 lbs. in the recovery from my stomach bug because I had to have a carb heavy diet until the vomiting and diarrhea subsided; for several days I lived on toast, crackers, rice, bananas, and Gatorade. I have felt alot better the last couple of days and have been able to start eating my normal diet. This morning I weighed in at exactly 240 lbs for a weight loss total of 53.5 lbs. I have not weighed 240 lbs in 8 years.

Several of you have asked about my diet. Here is what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast: One container of Lite Greek yogurt (store brand) that contained 90 calories, 16 g protein, and 10 g sugar. It was peach flavored. Not that the flavor matters or anything πŸ™‚

Snack: Spinach salad with 2 tbsp. reduced fat salad dressing. 75 calories, 3 g protein, 0 sugar.

Lunch: 1 small whole wheat tortilla (90 calories, 10 g fiber, 5 g carbs, 4 g protein), scrambled eggs (2 egg whites, one yolk), and 1/4 cup fat-free cheddar cheese. I topped the eggs and cheese with salsa and made a burrito.

Dinner: 2/3 of a catfish fillet, a shit-ton of dill pickle chips (hey….it’s that time of the month), several slices of cucumber.

I drank nothing but iced tea (sweetened with splenda) and water with lemon.

And that’s about it, folks. I have run out of things to say!

11 thoughts on “Plateau

  1. Love, loved Tracy’s new post on MckBeast!
    Have you checked out the non calorie sweetener called Nectresse? It’s supposed to be all natural, made from monk fruit, and I’m betting much better for your body than Splenda. I got a sample in the mail & tried it with a cup of hot tea, and have to say it was pretty good. Hang in there, that weight will start coming off again.

  2. Thanks for the update. The plateau’s are a bummer but happen. Just stay positive and you will be back on your way =) I am glad to hear about and see the healthy new you. You are doing a great job!

  3. I’m glad you’re feeling better. My own loss has stalled at 54 pounds, and I have only myself to blame. This shit’s hard, as you well know. I maintain my determination to just not quit, even when I get frustrated with myself. I know you know how hard it is to “fix” the mental aspects that go along with being obese. I won’t get into it all, but like virtually the rest of the world,I have my issues, and frequently turned to food to deal with them.

    Per my psychologist spouse, we start to have a sort of SSRI response to food, of course while this knowledge helps me to *NOT* feel like a wuss, loser, and failure when I do go over my calories, I still get frustrated.

    The diet products that JM promotes, IMO, can contribute to eating disorders. It’s so sad, and then throw all the MLM crap in on top of it, and there’s going to be a lot of really overweight, depressed, and broke women out there.

    I’m at 198 pounds, and it feels so darn good to have a number that doesn’t start with a 2.

    Keep up the great work, I still think you’re awesome.

  4. I am glad you are feeling better. I couldn’t imagine getting a stomach bug after this. I know what you mean about plateaus… mathematically they don’t make any sense but they happen. I wish they didn’t. I am only 4 weeks out and my weight hasn’t changed in 2 weeks and I am not consuming any carbs. I know it will work out though. Just frustrating.

  5. Snort, for what it is worth one of my daughters went to the emergency room twice with really severe abdominal (intestinal ) cramping. They found no cause and the best she could figure out was ,for her, Splenda aka sucrolose was the problem. I know everyone reacts differently to things but she has totally eliminated it from her diet. I know you have given up so much with your new way of eating but just thought I ‘d mention this.

  6. You’re doing awesome!! Wish I could get jumpstarted – in the lunchroom today, someone told another colleague that you really need to be at your ideal weight at 40, because it’s really hard after that. Well, hell… i only have a few months to drop a shit-ton of weight, then!! BTW, I sent you a message on FB, but was too cheap to pay $1 for it to be in your inbox, so it’s lingering in your “other” box. WTF, FB?

  7. Since I love your blog and it makes me laugh I nominated it for the Liebster award, or am inviting you to participate in the Liebster project or… anyway I am still a little fuzzy about pay it forward blog awards but you are on my list of 11. If you do decide to participate I look forward to your Liebster post! My own took more hours than I care to admit and I compare it to running a psychological marathon. Not everyone’s cup of tea but I enjoyed the process. The link to my own Liebster post and the details on how to participate is here:http://stumpsandbeans.com/2013/02/15/this-intimate-personal-and-vulnerable-side-of-blogging-sh-is-going-to-take-some-getting-used-to/

    Either way, thanks for the past six months of solid entertainment

    • Wow, thanks! Thank you for enduring my profanity laden musings for the last six months!!! I will check it out, and I’m going to check your blog out too πŸ™‚

      • Hi Snort – I am a big fan of profanity – esp since I can’t use any now that I have preschool age children. Must. Type. All. The. #$%*!!! πŸ™‚ If you do decide to take the Liebster challenge, just comment me so I can check it out πŸ™‚

Care to chime in with your $0.02?

