Happy New Year And All That Jazz

I am surprised yet not surprised that I haven’t blogged for so long. Too many things have been going on in the House of Snort. Let’s play catch-up:

  • Since late October Mr. Snort has been working 6 days a week, and I have been feeling the frustration at home. I clean the home in the mornings only to have it look like Hurricane 6-inch (a category 3 minimum) whipped through the house spilling beverages, throwing toys, and taking everything atop a table and swooping it to the floor.
  • My Footlong has lost both of this top teeth, and I think he looks like a little bat. It is sooooooooooooo cute!
  • We have found a delightful babysitter that loves both boys and is able to easily handle 6-inch and his communication/behavioral difficulties. She is wonderful. John and I have been on two dates!
  • I recently spent five days in the hospital (including Christmas) for a wicked stomach bug and was so severely dehydrated I was barely conscious. I kept the hubby and kids away from the hospital, and no one else got sick. I wanted to post some photos of my kids on Christmas, but I can’t bring myself to do it. I wasn’t there to see Christmas morning in person, and I’m having to rely second-hand on photos and videos. That breaks my heart.
  • I’m not sure exactly what I’ve been accused of at MWOP (like I care), but I don’t and have never Tweeted, Instagrammed, contacted Mck other than to play my Golden Ticket, do not own another blog, and do not comment under other names. There. Just wanted all of that said.
  • Todays forecast is for sunshine with a high of 71 and low of 37.
  • I was accepted to culinary school and was supposed to be started in two weeks. I have had to put it on hold indefinitely as the state now wants to test 6-inch for autism. He currently receives Speech Therapy, and we are now adding Occupational Therapy, Sensory Therapy, and Feeding Therapy into the mix. There is also talk of a brain MRI just to make 100% sure that his little noggin is ok. I feel overwhelmed. And hopeful. And sad, like there is something I did to my baby in utero. He is 2 1/2  and can speak 2 words, and his non-verbal communication skills have improved ten-fold. He can follow simple commands and loves to play silly games that I make up on the spot. Sweet, sweet, baby.
  • I saw my bariatric surgeon before the holidays, and he said that he was not surprised my weight loss had slowed to a crawl given the psychotrophic medications I was on. We are thinking of perhaps weaning off drugs to see if it helps weight loss. He says patients on a ton of antidepressants and anxiety stuff hold onto fat for dear life. I’m blessed to be healthier and much happier, but oh how wonderful it would be let go of some more (literal) baggage.
  • And that’s all for me. How are you doing?
18 thoughts on “Happy New Year And All That Jazz

  1. I love your blog Snort and say step away from the crazy! I am a behavior analyst who works with kids with Autism so if you ever need someone to talk to I am happy to listen 🙂

  2. Sorry to hear about the difficulties. And I’m praying for a great outcome (whatever outcome you want) for 6-inch. He’s such an adorable little guy!

    As for MWOP, I officially “flounced.” It became less fun to watch the trainwreck that was happening there with everyone turning on everyone else and calling out people who have done nothing to warrant that kind of attention.

    I spent Thanksgiving at home (yay for 3 week vacation away from North Africa), to which, my husband came and surprised me. After months of pestering him to come with me and him saying he couldn’t get away from work, he worked double time, bought a ticket, and came over to spend most of my vacation and Thanksgiving with me and my family. What a guy!

    Christmas was spent here with him and my site mate (and her brother and his girlfriend). Fajitas for lunch, grilled beef and some fixin’s for dinner, plus some presents was a good way to spend the holiday. I’m now at the end of a two-week or so break (winter break from school means that my workplace is also closed), looking forward to getting back into the swing of things.

    But the best news – I officially move back to the US in less than 5 months! I can’t wait!

    My wish for you this year is happiness, love, and reveling in the little things. Happy New Year!

  3. My daughter was born preemie and she didn’t speak at two either. They tested her over and over for autism but she was never diagnosed. She had a year of feeding therapy, three years of speech and occupational therapy and by time she started kindergarten was totally caught up to her peers. I am writing this poorly but what I am trying to say is, I was so stressed and felt so guilty that I had done something wrong and people always wanted to give me their opinions as to why she wasn’t speaking but in the end, it worked out. She is now in second grade and doing great. I am now in my second year of the culinary program here in Phoenix and enjoying the heck out of it. So never forget that a dream deferred is not a dream deserted!! You will be in my thoughts and prayers!!

  4. Just wanted to send you a little support…I have three boys and my oldest was diagnosed with autism almost three years ago (he’s five and a half now). I was devastated when the diagnosis came, but I am here to encourage you, should you find yourself in that position. My son has made leaps and bounds of progress in the last three years. Miracles happen with early intervention. Find a support group – with autism affecting 1 in 55 boys, there are a LOT of us out there, and it’s a great community to be a part of. I have learned so much from my beautiful boy, that I never would have had he been neurotypical. He looks at the world differently, and I love seeing things through his eyes. Also, with autism, all of the “little things” become huge accomplishments; every thing is something to celebrate.

    Anyway, I could go on and on, I just wanted to let you know that if you do get that diagnosis, it is NOT the end of the world, it is simply the beginning of his journey, and from your blogs i know you love your children more than life, and that you will do all you can to help your son, you’re already doing so much! And one more thing, PLEASE don’t play the “why” game with his diagnosis, it will only make you crazy. I wasted so much time wondering if I caused my son’s autism, or if I could have prevented it. The truth is, I will never know, and it does not matter. He is who he is, and he is loved, and valued, and treasured. I know your son is as well. Focus on the positive, hon. I will be praying for you and your sweet son.

    Sorry, one more thing! I had RNY two months ago, and have enjoyed reading about your experience with it. You’ve done fantastic, and I hope that going off the meds a bit will help you on your weight loss journey. Go easy on yourself, you’ve got a LOT going on in your life and your looking great!

  5. First off, glad to hear you’re feeling better but too bad you had to miss out on Christmas with your family. Secondly, try not to blame yourself for what may or may not be with the little man. The important thing is that aside from those things, the boys are healthy and happy and you’re getting him the help that he needs. Try to look at it as a small bump in the road. I know it’s rather cliché, but this too shall pass.

    As disappointing as it is when we don’t see the scale move, or when it moves at as turtle’s pace, you should be super proud of what has been accomplished thus far! I wish you all the best and I hope you keep up with the blogging sometimes, I do enjoy reading 🙂

  6. I work full time and started a culinary program at a community college. There may be some courses you could take online while you are organizing your son’s care/treatment. I had to stop because they doubled the per credit tuition and I couldn’t justify spending 10K on a certificate program!!!

  7. Hi Snort! I hope all is well with you and that six inch is doing well. Just wanted to say I was thinkin’ of you!

  8. Long time follower of yours, and just wanted you to know your $0.02 are missed. I miss your updates. Anyway, FWIW…you are missed on the internets!

  9. I follow you when I can–you are so brave to put your hard work out there. Sending wishes for the best outcome for your son.

  10. I was thinking about you and wondering how thing are. I see you are not at MWOP and you are not blogging; are you on Facebook?

  11. Like Tragically Accurate, I miss you. Lots of people miss you! I wish you would update your blog and let us know how you, Six Inch, Footlong, and Mr. Snort are doing.

    (aka PsychologicalSupplements on Disqus)

Care to chime in with your $0.02?

